Skip to main content

University System of Maryland Hagerstown

USMH Celebrates 2019-2020 Scholarship Awards

Written by sbrown Posted: 0 Comments

The University System of Maryland at Hagerstown (USMH) has announced the scholarship awardees for the 2019-2020.

To qualify, students had to be currently enrolled or starting in programs at USMH. They also had to be at the junior level or higher and have a B or better grade point average. As part of the application, students submitted an official transcript, a letter of recommendation, and answered essay questions about their educational goals and service to others. A committee comprised of USMH staff and board members determined the recipients.

The general USMH scholarships are funded through the proceeds of various fundraisers that are held throughout the year including the annual Elizabethtowne Feaste and Frolic, which will be held at the new Hospitality Center at 55-59 W. Washington Street on December 6th.

In addition, the Magnolia Foundation scholarships are a result of donations made through the Waltersdorf/Henson challenge grant campaign conducted by the Community Foundation of Washington County. The City of Hagerstown, Board of Washington County Commissioners, Citicorp, the estate of Florence Graff and an anonymous donor who supports STEM programs all made significant gifts to this fund resulting in named scholarships.

The following students from USMH's partner institutions were awarded scholarships (* indicates student has earned a scholarship for a second time):

Washington County Board of Commissioners Scholarship
Katherine Dunn* - MSW (SU)
Lydia Jernigan - M.Ed. School Counseling (FSU)

Citicorp Scholarship
Colleen Ellis - M.Ed. School Counseling (FSU)
Kira Muren - Business Administration (FSU)

Florence H. Graff Scholarship
Rebekah Sirokman Miles - M.Ed. Supervision and Administration (FSU)
Rebeckah Young* - M.Ed. Curriculum and Instruction (FSU)

City of Hagerstown Scholarship
Chakina Sumpter - MSW (SU)

STEM Scholarship
Chiso Oboite - Physician Assistant Studies (FSU)

Fletcher Foundation Scholarship
Hannah Graff* - Nursing (TU)

Magnolia Scholarship
Anna Hawes - Ed.D. Educational Leadership (FSU)
Khushboo Khan - Physician Assistant Studies (FSU)
Angel Kurtz* - BSW (SU)
Michael Tucker - BSW (SU)

USMH Scholarship
Idowu Abaku - Nursing (TU)
Kelsey Breakall* - M.Ed. School Counseling (FSU)
Paige Coughenour - MAT (FSU)
Michela Fabrizio - MSW (SU)
Anna Fiora* - MSW (SU)
Kimura Jacobs - Physician Assistant Studies (FSU)
Lexie Jentzsch* - Early Childhood/Elementary Education (FSU)
Courtney Lake - Early Childhoor/Elementary Education (FSU)
Jessica Schoonover - MSW (SU)
Tracey Thomas - Psychology (FSU)
Hannah Ward - Nursing (TU)

Fletcher Foundation Advanced Practice Scholarship
Zachary Screiber - Physician Assistant Studies (FSU)